Dandelion Greens

Remember I had bought some dandelion greens a couple of weeks ago?  I wish I had thought to take a photo before cooking.  They were of the red leaf variety and looked really pretty.

Anyway, I don’t have a recipe for ya…. as the cooking method I chose was sort of a fail.

IMG_5079

I chose to saute the greens with garlic and olive oil, like I would spinach. The result was a way too bitter taste. Soso was funny. She would say, “It’s too bitter” and nibble some more and she winded up eating a decent portion. Interestingly enough, the next day, the left-over tasted fine. In fact, we all enjoyed it a lot.

I guess you could use the ‘just saute’ method if you want to eat it the next day. I’m going to try blanching it first like I do with broccoli rabe. So, the dandelion green experiment is to be continued…

Leave a Reply

