Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

I find myself often making things because some food item needs to be used up. This crazy weekend of Soso’s birthday party and getting ready to leave for Kansas was made even crazier because I had 4 ripe bananas. One or two, I could have easily thrown away, but four was just too wasteful.

So much for not being in the mood to bake last week!

Thankfully, banana breads are easy to make. Thanks to some self-rising flour in the pantry (surprise, surprise that I also needed to use), it was made even easier. If you don’t have self-rising flour, just use 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour, 3 3/4 teaspoon baking powder and 1 teaspoon salt.

I substituted nuts with chocolate chips as I’m not that fond of nuts in desserts.  The chocolate chips give the bread a bit of sweet texture.  But feel free to add nuts if you are a nut fan.  I decreased the white sugar from 1/2 cup to 1/4 cup because of the chocolate chips. If you’re leaving the chips out, I would add more sugar.

Alas, no photos unless I can squeeze one in tonight between making dinner and doing last minute packing.  D is right.  I am crazy.  Instead of my original dinner plan of take-out Chinese, I’m making tofu patties.  All because, it galls me to leave D without any food for the week.

Probably, he’s gnashing his teeth because I’ve foiled his plan for fast food that he normally doesn’t get to eat.  He can hope.  I am gone until next Monday.  The tofu patties and the panko crusted flounder I made last night will last only three nights.  Still, I feel better leaving him with some food.

By the way, I love panko bread and it is the perfect coating for a delicate fish like flounder. Crispy and light.  I was making them at 9PM and didn’t have time to stop and take photos, but I will for sure next time.

Print

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Prep Time: 10 mins      Cook Time: 30 – 60 mins

Ingredients

2 1/2 cups self-rising flour (2 1/2 cup all purpose flour, 3 3/4 tsp baking powder, 1 tsp salt)
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
1/4 cup white sugar (or upto 1/2 cup for sweeter bread)
1/4 cup packed light brown sugar
1 stick (1/2 cup) unsalted butter, softened
2 eggs, lightly beaten
1/4 cup milk
4 – 5 ripe banana, mashed
1/2 cup chocolate chips, optional

Directions

Butter or oil 6 mini or 3 full-sized loaf pans. Pre-heat oven to 350.

In a small bowl, shift the flour, salt, cinnamon and nutmeg in a small bowl and set aside.

In a large bowl, cream the butter and sugar. Add the egg, milk and bananas and mix. Slowly add flour mixture until just combined. Add chocolate chips and mix lightly.

Pour batter into prepared pans about 3/4 full. Bake 30 – 40 minutes for mini and 50 -60 minutes for regular or until an inserted toothpicks comes out clean. Banana breads can be frozen up to a month or two. Just wrap really well. I usually wrap in Saran, aluminum and throw it into a ziplock bag.

Leave a Reply

