Happy 1st Birthday, Peanut!

Baby Peanut

Happy 1st birthday, my dearest Peanut. I wish we could have been there to celebrate this very special milestone in your life. I wish we could have had you home with us. Still, perhaps it was appropriate that you got to spend your first birthday with the wonderful family that has been loving you and taking care of you for the past year. We will have a lifetime of birthdays to celebrate with you once you’re home.

And Christmas and Easter and Halloween and so many other celebrations. I wasn’t able to send out your gifts in time, but we have your 1st Christmas, Easter and Birthday presents all waiting for you. Your big sister is keeping them safe.

You already have a collection of soft animals that Soso’s picked for you, all waiting to be loved by you. Tigger, Piglet, Nemo and a Dalmatian. You have some treats that S has got her eyes on so you need to hurry and get here! Lots and lots of new clothes, because you’re such a peanut and Soso’s old clothes are too big for you. A swimsuit because you, Daddy and Soso will be spending a lot of time at the pool. Little tiny shoes and socks because you’re already walking!

Some first year stats. As I said, you’re truly a peanut at 28.5 inches tall and 18.7 pounds in weight. You prefer the foster mom, you can play ball with the doctor and you can make dada/mama sounds. I wish I had more information. There are so many things I don’t know about you, but I hope to learn when I meet your foster family.

Again, we have a lifetime of finding out about each other. I hope you like me. Know that I already love you. Though you didn’t grow in my womb, you have indeed grown in my heart. We have wanted you and waited for you for a long time.

We are anxiously waiting to bring you home. We’re close, so close! Maybe today will be the day we get the travel call.

Meanwhile, happy 1st birthday my little one.

Love,

Mama

3 thoughts on “Happy 1st Birthday, Peanut!

  1. she is absolutely darling–i am so excited for you! and have fun in Korea with all the good eats there! i am hoping to visit Seoul in the first week of August–i’d love to hear if you have any recommendations for accommodations or restaurants there! 🙂

Leave a Reply

