Family of Four

I know that people have been impatient to see some updated photos of Peanut so here they are.

IMG_6708-1

Family/Gotcha Day when we finally met Peanut and her Foster Mom. I forgot to ask her permission to post so her face has been blacked out to protect her privacy.

IMG_6726

The first morning after the meeting.  Even though she tossed and turned every which way, we were happy that she slept through the night. 

IMG_6776

First outing as a family of four to a palace near our hotel. She passed out within 15 minutes of the walk.

IMG_6777

She finally woke up in time for a photo in front of both of our Chinese Horoscope, the Tiger.

IMG_6820

Second morning. Not a great photo, but you can see that she was able to relax enough to play.

IMG_6833

Our last night, right before we left for dinner with my mom’s sisters.

IMG_6851

Our flight home… we had two seats in one row and one seat in the row behind. The woman who had the third seat wouldn’t switch with us. Thankfully, the two people where we had the one seat would.

IMG_6850

Why thankfully aside from the obvious reasons? Peanut had really bonded with D and would not let me even touch her, let alone sit with me the first four hours of the flight. She finally let me hold her and walk around the cabin, but she would only sit with D. It would have been really hard for him to sit by himself with Peanut with no room to stretch or sit with Peanut on his lap and Soso next to him since there were points when both were needy.

Otherwise, the flight was relatively uneventful. Just incredibly tiring.

No photos yet at home… the last 36 hours have been about  just trying to survive. Peanut is having trouble sleeping at night due to the time change. Last night, she literally cried on and off until the morning.

She continues to be incredibly clingy with D. I feel bad for him, but for me too. Not that this is at all about me, but even knowing intellectually that she’s not rejecting me per se, but rather she’s decided that D is her comfort person while she sorts this all out doesn’t always help the heart.

Oh well, I guess it is all for the better that she bonds with him as he is her primary caregiver for the next few months.

15 thoughts on “Family of Four

  1. Congratulations “Family of Four” try to relax and enjoy the period of adjustment for all. She is a beauty and I think S will be the perfect Big Sister! Finally the best advise anyone ever gave me was: sleep when the baby sleeps (of course this only works if you can!)

  2. I am so glad you have this blog, or else i would go crazy wondering how you’re doing.
    It’s so good that she has bonded with someone, because if she were miserable it would be so heart wrenching for you all to see. Still no name?

  3. I am so happy for your new little family, the adjustments will all come with time. I love the pictures!!

  4. I was tearing up all the way through the photos! Your family is so beautiful. Especially loved the one of the two girls cuddling on the bed on your last night. Hope the adjustment period goes well for you and that you are able to bond soon, as well. Congratulations!

  5. Oh how I remember these days and don’t you remember our phone call so long ago when I promised you these days would come? I am just so happy for you. Words don’t even describe how happy! 🙂

  6. I am so happy for you! And she will come around to her Mama, just give her time to adjust. ((Hugs)) and lots of congrats to all of you!

  7. Awww… how precious she is! I’m so happy for you all! Get as much rest as you can…you survived a long trip with a baby on board. What an accomplishment! Lol…

  8. SWOON!!! These pictures are SO precious! I remember reading Jane’s first days at home and saying how tough it was being the ‘comfort person’, but fast forward a few months and she captured that PRECIOUS photo of her hugging on her daddy! You are one very lucky mama! Congratulations to you all!

Leave a Reply

