Post Adoption Week 7 Summary

School is over and summer is officially here. I had hoped life would be less hectic, but it doesn’t look like it.  Now that Soso is on the swim team, there’s either practice or a meet Monday through Saturday.

Soso had her first official meet on Saturday.  I don’t know how she did, but the team won. It was a home meet and from warm-up to finish, it lasted 2.5 hours.  The away meets are about 30 – 45 minutes away.  I think door-to-door, they will take 4 – 5 hours. Unfortunately, aside from one more home meet, the rest are away.  I think we’ll be lucky to make 2.  It is such a huge time commitment.  Swim team, even in the summer is no joke!

Week 7 was the first week since we’ve been home that went by at a relatively normal speed.  An hour didn’t feel like 2 hours and a day didn’t feel like 3.  I don’t know what was different.  This is the first week where I also felt like normal mom of 2 kids.

First, remember the day I had to take care of Peanut (and Soso) by myself for up to 5 hours potentially?  I survived!  We survived!  No one had a meltdown!

I know any normal parent would find it hard to believe or relate to how stressed D and I were about that day.  The day before, I had butterflies in my stomach all day.  D kept calling me at work with modified plans for my survival.

D had the entire 5 hours mapped out with primary and contingency plans.  In the end I didn’t need most of them.  By the end of the day, I spent more time with Peanut than D did and it was the most time I spent with her without D since we came home.  Did I mention that no one had a meltdown?

We were able to take time with breakfast because Peanut was eating really well. She usually doesn’t eat well and she has no patience for sitting in the chair beyond 5 minutes. This time, she ate almost a whole container of baby yogurt and she sat calmly the entire time.  Then we killed sometime going to Target.  By the time we got to my father-in-laws, we only had 45 minutes before it was nap time.  By the time she woke up, D was home.  I even fed her lunch, again pretty peacefully before I took my break outside the house. Then I took the girls to visit D’s aunt while he got some ‘he’ time.

On Saturday afternoon, I took the girls by myself to the pool while D did mowed the lawn. Two of Soso’s friends were able to come to the pool as well so I didn’t have to worry about S being bored and I was able to focus on P.

An added bonus, one of S’s friend came with her dad.  He’s been obsessed with getting Peanut to let him hold her.  Well, he finally held her for 20 seconds.  Doesn’t sound like much, but she only just started going to Papa and she still doesn’t go to Zizi.  Then, Soso’s friend A got too cold for the pool and played with Peanut for about 30 minutes.  I was able to converse normally with other parents.  By the time D joined us, it was almost like I could have told him to not bother.  It was great!

Of course, Sunday was more tough.  Peanut wouldn’t nap and the day dragged on.  I was extremely tired and I had a headache.  By the end of the day, I had reached my limit. After the last meltdown, D had created a color code, ranging from green to red.  Green is good.  Yellow is on alert.  Orange is danger and red is too late.  I was able to update D on my status throughout the day.  When I told him I was one screech away from red and he immediately left for his dad’s house and we were able to finish the weekend without a crisis.  Phew!

Some updates on Peanut:

  • Eating slightly better
  • Gives kisses more readily to me, Soso and D
  • Liking Papa more and D was able to leave her with Papa for 10 minutes
  • Starting recognize her name
  • Saying mama and dada sounds versus umma (Korean word for mama)
  • Walking 99% of the time now versus crawling
  • Drinking from sippy well for water, milk not so much
  • Loves crackers
One thought on “Post Adoption Week 7 Summary

Leave a Reply

