Post Adoption Week 11 Summary

Well, I’m not going to mince words.  Week 11 started out awful.  I was in danger of a meltdown awful.  I haven’t had one in so long that I’ve stopped keeping track.

So, what happened?  Well, you know that saying, if it isn’t one thing it is another?  So true. Peanut is eating better, she’s on 95% whole milk, she’s takes baths well, she’s understanding more, she’s affectionate.  She’s been doing so well, I actually thought D and I could have a date.

It would have been a late date, maybe catch a 9ish movie after the kids are down.  Wow, flashback to my 20’s.  I can’t even tell you the last time we’ve been out past 11PM.  But it would have been worth trying to fight off sleep and fatigue to see the last Harry Potter movie in the theater.  Sorry, going off on a tangent…

Anyway, the one thing that Peanut has been doing consistently after the 3 weeks home, the thing that has helped to keep both D and my sanity in check, her sleeping through the night was gone. Poof.

It started out with one wake up for two days, but by Tuesday, she’s was in full, multiple wake-ups, crying and even screaming mode.  After two nights, we were a wreck.  On top of that, she was napping horribly.  Which made her cranky.  Which in turn made her more clingy.  I had to take her for a walk so he could eat in peace for 20 minutes.  Did I mention that last week was also one of the worst heat wave we’ve had?  100 degrees even at 6 PM.

What got me the most was that for the first time that I can remember in the 14 years that I’ve known him, D use the word “depressed”, as in “I’m depressed.”  It just shook me.  It made me lose faith for a moment that we’re going to survive this transition.  My D doesn’t get depressed.  He gets down, but only for a moment and he gets back up again.  He doesn’t sound hopeless.

Wednesday night was tough.  Soso had her last swim meet in another town.  I wanted to so badly to let D go with her, to give him a break away from Peanut and from the house. But I could tell that the lack of sleep was taking its toll on me.  I had to tell him that I didn’t trust myself.  It really hurt to have to say that again.

Extreme fatigue can really mess with your mind.  D was telling me that Peanut hated the crib.  Possibly hated the room.  That we may have to move her to a regular bed and into the larger room that’s not even ready for her.  No wonder sleep deprivation is used as a form of torture.

But some reason prevailed by Thursday.  There had to be a reason for Peanut’s wake-ups.  You just don’t go from sleeping through the night for 7 weeks and to waking up screaming multiple times.  After ruling out ear infection, we suspected molars coming through.  We gave Peanut some Tylenol and she woke up briefly only a couple of times before 11PM and slept the rest of the night.

Friday, we skipped Tylenol and she woke up screaming multiple times again.  She’s been on Tylenol the last two days and guess what? No wake-ups!  Woo hoo!!!

Now I just need to stop being on heightened alert.  I don’t know if other parents hear phantom crying, but D and I do.  We had stopped hearing them a few weeks ago, but this week set us back.  The last two nights we’ve been waking up hearing Peanut’s phantom crying. Strange, right?

I don’t have any significant updates on Peanut.  She’s doing well, aside from the ongoing preference for D.  I’m hoping spending some time with her in September will make that better.  Soso and Peanut get along on and off, but already’s there’s some sibling rivalry thing going on.

For example, Soso had a small armchair that is now Peanut’s.  When Soso tries to sit in it, Peanut screeches.  Soso commented the other day, “It’s like she’s guarding the chair from me.”  I tried to sit in the chair and she could care less. Same thing for D.  She only gets upset when Soso sits in it.

One of my friends with two girls tells me that there’s already hair pulling.  Oh, I just can’t wait… not.  And guess who will win an actual fight?  The 1-year-old of course.  Yup, even now she’ll win over the 7-year-old, who’s more than twice her height and weight.

We’ve nicknamed her Godzilla and her theme song is “You’re Unbelievable” by EMF. Because it is unbelievable how much trouble she gets herself into already.

Like yesterday, somehow she climbed up the toy kitchen set and got stuck in the space between the sink and the hood.

Or the other day, I found her grasping the rails on the third step and putting her bare feet against the wall to climb.  Like rock climbing?  This is just an image from the web, but you get the picture, right?

After one Mass, a couple that I guess was observing us contain Peanut and keep her from banging her head against the pews, crawling under them, falling just from sheer impetuosity of her walks, falling off the seat, banging her fingers while pulling down the kneelers, getting up and down, walking hither and yonder, said to us, “Wow, she’s something else, isn’t she?”  I know it wasn’t a compliment!

3 thoughts on “Post Adoption Week 11 Summary

  1. that brings back memories…ashna got her head stuck in the spindles of that type of staircase, it was nightmare. then one other time anusham was climbing up the same way Peanut was climbing and fell back and landed on his head. he still remembers that happening.

  2. then yesterday i was sitting next to my youngest who is almost 4, literally sitting right behind him,
    no TV, no phone, no distractions, he turns around and he has 7 hungry hippo balls in his mouth.

    1. Aruna, I love ya but you’re so bad at comforting people… this morning, D found Peanut sucking on a femine product… then she’s walking with nothing near her and she trips and lands on her face just because she’s always in such a hurry… I told D that we should think about getting one of those large yard gates.

Leave a Reply

