Post Adoption Week 15 Summary

Back in the day… funny how I can say back in the day now… when I was going crazy and feeling like my whole world was bleak and hopeless, 15 weeks home was a milestone I couldn’t even dream about.

Here I am 15  weeks home with Peanut and it didn’t register until it was already past. I’ve stopped living week to week.  Just like I’ve stopped counting the weeks between meltdowns.  I can’t pin-point the last time, it has been that long.

Last week, I wrote how exhausted I was after watching Peanut for 3 hours.  But the reality is that I no longer dread being left alone with Peanut, at least up to 3 hours.  I no longer have to have ‘plans’ to survive.  On Saturday, D and I had a role reversal where I was the primary parent interacting with the kids.  By the end of the day, all I wanted was a glass of wine and some downtime with Korean drama.  But, I survived.  No meltdowns.  Every week, there’s a tiny step forward.  Every week, our family groove gets a little deeper, a little smoother.

Due to D’s coaching schedule, since Thursday, I started going to work later.  So, now I feel more confident about the mornings, which include saying good-bye to D (Peanut was totally fine), and taking care of breakfast.  Every little success helps.

A couple of big milestone for Peanut… I was able to leave her with Papa, Zizi N and Soso for 1 – 1.5 hours so I could get to work by 10ish.  She was fine without me or D and even when D came home, she didn’t go running to him crying.  Woo hoo!

Saturday night was her last night-time bottle. Hopefully, the week will go well as we adjust to a slightly different bedtime routine.  Can I get another woo hoo?

She no longer needs baby food.  We’ll probably have some around for when we go out, but at home, she can be 100% on table food.  And she’s a great eater.  She’s already eating pieces of spinach, broccoli, squash, pepper, tomatoes… I’m just blown away by the variety of food she eats at this age.  Even better than Soso.  I had to hide tiny pieces of bell peppers in pastas until she was… 3 or 4 years old!

In fact she’s so interested in food, it is hard to cook around her.  As soon as I start cooking, she comes running to me, gives me a big smile, squeezes my legs and basically tries to charm me into giving her food.  It’s kind of cute and annoying at the same time.  That’s my Peanut!

 

 

 

One thought on “Post Adoption Week 15 Summary

Leave a Reply

