Plans for Surviving FMLA, One Day and One Week at a Time

My planned family leave is coming up.  In fact it is right around the corner.  Not including today, I have 7 days of work left.  Starting 9/6, I become a temporary stay-at-home-mom.

How temporary?  That is THE question.

I’m signed up for 8 weeks, but I’m taking it one week, perhaps even one day at a time.  I’m pretty sure that I’ll survive the first week, but after that?  It is anyone’s guess.

As usual, I’m making plans.  Y’all know how I love plans.

First, I have the days broken down by the hour.  A flexible framework for me to plan out the day.

Second, I have a list of places to go for breaks outside the house.  Peanut is usually much better behaved/distracted/engaged outside the house, therefore more manageable.

Third, I have a list of other stay-at-home-moms on speed dial as part of my “distract” Peanut plan (note to self, let these SAHM know that I’ll be calling)

Fourth, I have a list of methods and resources to cope in case I get overwhelmed.

So, my day is going to go something like this:

5:45 AM – wake up/shower and get ready for the day

6:50 – wave bye-bye to D

7 – 8 – breakfast/clean-up/gets kids ready for the day

8 – 9 – walk Soso to school and back, maybe stop by the school playground in between

9 – 11 – go visit a store/friend/Gymboree type class/run errands

11- 2:15 – lunch/nap/play in the house

2:15 – 3 – p/u Soso from school/playground

3 – 5 – work on homework with Soso while Peanut, hopefully cooperates and/or go visit friend/family/store/bring Soso to her activity of the day i.e. soccer, swim, piano

5 – 6 – dinner/clean-up

6 – 7 – walk around the block/Dairy Queen/visit a friend/store

7 – 7:30 – bath/bed-time

Places to visit:

  • Stores like Target, Wal-Mart, Toys R Us
  • Kids Village (indoor play place)
  • playgrounds
  • library
  • Father-in-law
  • D’s aunts
  • 1 of the 4 stay-at-home-moms I know
  • Gymboree open gym hours if we join
  • 1 of 2 friends I have in town (note to self, I need to make more friends)
Coping methods and resources:
  • breathing exercise/regular exercise/yoga
  • anti-anxiety meds (get a prescription refill)
  • a glass of wine around dinner time since that’s when the witching hour starts (stock up on wine)
  • Korean drama to decompress for the next day( who knew that my recent K-drama addiction would be a form of therapy?)
  • ice cream and chocolate (I have a feeling I’m going to get fat by the end)
  • retail therapy (do NOT feel guilty about buying a lot of shoes)
  • have father-in-law/sister-in-law come at least once a week, even just for an hour so I can leave the house
  • have my dad come over a couple of times during the leave
  • create a safe place for Peanut if I need to walk out of the room (playpen?)
  • have Kindercare and Soso’s afternoon care on stand-by so I can go back to work right away if needed
  • making two meals on Sunday/setting up easy dinner meals that can be prepped in less than 30 mins and/or relying more on ready-made meals/take-outs
That’s it for now.
Leave a Reply

