Thank You #1 Mom

1 - Good Luck

Happy New Year!  Finally!  I was never so happy to see a year end, 2011 holding too many sad memories for me in spite of all the blessings I have received as well.  There seemed to be a dark cloud over me or hovering near that I couldn’t seem to shake off.

So good riddance to 2011, I said out loud.  D was concerned with how unhappy I sounded.  Apparently, I’ve been sounding unhappy pretty often this past year.  He relayed the story of the man who wrote 365 thank you notes and how this simple act changed his life.

To make a long story short, I acknowledged that I have been more unhappy than not.  More cynical and pessimistic.  More prone to anger and despair.  Despite all evidence to the contrary, I am not really that person.

Since this is the new year and time for new resolutions and what nots, I’ve decided to start my own 365 Thank you project.  I resolve to write a thank you note everyday in 2010 and if I can, post a related photo.  I want to restart my 365 photo project, so perhapsI can combine the two.  That’s two resolutions!

Dear Mom,

Thank you for giving me life, for shaping me into who I am, for loving me, supporting me, for worrying about me, for telling me that I was the best daughter, and for being a part of my life for 37 years.  Since this is  New Years, thank you for teaching me how to make duk guk soup so that even with you no longer here, my family and I can continue to be blessed with good luck.  I can’t believe that for the first time in my life, I’m starting a year without you in this world.  So, I’ll think of it as the beginning of my life with a special guardian watching over me and my family.  I miss you.

Love always,

The Best Daughter in the World

P.S. Now I’m participating in MCP Project 12.  January theme is resolution, so make that three resolutions.  I’ve decided to use the duk guk photo as the January theme photo because duk good = luck and I’ll need a lot of it with all my resolutions this year!

2 thoughts on “Thank You #1 Mom

  1. This is an awesome post. I love your posting the thank you note and the photo.
    p.s. God heals the brokenhearted…. Here’s to a fresh year.

Leave a Reply

