Goofy Cake with Walnuts

IMG_8586

Normally, I avoid baked goods with nuts. I just don’t care for nuts in desserts anymore. But, when I’m told that it is the best! thing! ever!, I had to try it. I loved it, nuts and all.

I asked for the recipe and I received a piece of paper titled “goofy cake”. I have no idea why it’s called goofy.  When I did a quick google search, I got “goofy” chocolate cake recipes or the actual Disney Goofy character cake instructions.  Finally, I saw one obscure site with a recipe similar to the one below, minus one egg and walnuts.

As I’m not experience enough to know what one egg more or less would do, I decided to follow the family friend recipe.  Of course, typical of a recipe written by people of certain generation, there was a list of ingredients and the very helpful instructions like, mix, whip, bake until done.

Okay, perhaps not quite as bad, but pretty darn close. The directions are not hard, but again, I’m not experienced enough in baking to guess or approximate.

I added a few additional sentences for those of us who are novices.  Also, a little goofy cake goes a long way.  It is very sweet and a one inch square piece is a perfect portion size.

I brought this over to Peanut’s daycare staff.  I also made D, Soso, and a few co-workers sample the cake.  I got two too sweet, two love, one okay.  I wonder if I can put less powder sugar?

IMG_8573

Print

Goofy Cake

Prep time: 15 mins   Cook time: 35 mins

Ingredients

1 stick butter, softened
4 eggs
1 box Duncan Hine’s Yellow Cake Mix with Butter
3/4 box Confectioner’s Sugar
8 ounces cream cheese, softened
1.5 cups walnuts, finely chopped (optional)

Directions

Preheat oven to 350. Grease 13×9 pan.

With an electric mixer set to medium speed, mix  2 egg and butter until creamy. Add in cake mix until all liquid is absorbed.  Mixture will look like pie-crust dough.  Pour into greased pan, pressing lightly to spread the mixture.

Whip 2 eggs and cream cheese. Add in powder sugar and whip until creamy. Pour over the cake mix. Sprinkle walnuts on top. Bake 30 – 35 mins or until the outer edge starts to brown.

Cut cake into 1 – 1.25 inch squares when thoroughly cooled.

3 thoughts on “Goofy Cake with Walnuts

  1. ooh, this looks like a recipe I got from a friend called “vacuum cleaner cookies.” i think it’s pretty much the same, except shredded coconut is used instead of nuts. yes, you are right, a little goes a looooong way!

Leave a Reply

