Minestrone Soup II

I happen to be looking at a spot on my wordpress dashboard and what do I see, unpublished posts.  Based on the first paragraph, I wrote this post in November 2010.  I have no idea why I didn’t post it…except may be I was waiting to take a photo and it never happened?

This recipe is a little different from the one I just posted, but looks good. I have no idea where I got it from and obviously I haven’t made it since.  But I’m sure it was good so enjoy!

***

For the first time in a really long time, we did not host Thanksgiving.  And we travelled.  On Thanksgiving morning.  Traffic was light and we got to Maryland in just about 2.5 hours.  Not too bad.  We had a lovely lunch with my sister-in-law’s parents.  I brought pumpkin breads, pumpkin pie and apple pies.  And I was so relieved and flatter by my apple pie’s reception.  I got the NICEST compliment.  Someone said that it was one of the best apple pies she’s ever tasted!  Yay!

Anyway, since we didn’t host, we are not redolent with a bunch of left-overs this weekend. So, back to my usual Sunday duty of shopping and cooking for the weekend.

The girl asked for soup and beans and rice.  I decided a minestrone would be good.  I ate so much meat and mashed potatoes that my body is positively screaming for some veggies.

Print

Minestrone Soup

Ingredients

1/4 cup of olive oil
1 onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
3 carrots, diced
2 celery sliced
2 zucchini, cut into quarters lengthwise and sliced
1 yellow squash, cut into quarters lengthwise and sliced
1/4 head of savoy cabbage, shredded
2 potatoes, peeled and cut into 1/4 inch dice
1 can small red beans, drained and rinsed
8 cups of broth or stock
1 tbsp tomato paste
1 bay leaf
1/2 tsp dried thyme
salt and pepper to taste
2 tbsp grated Parmesan cheese (optional)

Directions

Heat the olive oil in a large pot over moderate heat.  Add the onion and cook until golden brown, about 10 minutes.  Add the garlic, carrots, and celery and cook for another 5 minutes.  Add the zucchini, squash and cabbage and cook until the vegetables start to soften.

Add the broth, beans, potatoes, tomato paste, bay leaf, thyme and bring to a boil.  Reduce heat and simmer partially covered until the vegetables and potatoes are tender, about 15 minutes.  Remove the bay leaf.  Salt and pepper to taste.   Serve in individual bowls with a sprinkle of Parmesan cheese.

Leave a Reply

