Thank You #66 Washing Machines

TY #66

We have to do a load of laundry every 2 days or so.  It averages to about 3.5 loads per week. Perhaps not a lot of some, but it feels like an awful lot to us.  I used to not mind doing laundry and I used to actually enjoy folding the toasty clothes.   Now, I just hate the whole process.

Still, I should be and am when I have to think about it thankful for washing machines. When I was young, we didn’t have washing machines and I remember washing clothes by hand. We had those wooden washing boards. I have a memory of big items like blankets being thrown into a large tub with soapy water and stomping them with our feet. I was a kid so I probably thought it was fun. Bet it wasn’t so fun in the winter! Oh yeah, this was done outdoors.

Gosh, this really takes me back. So, even though I hate doing laundry, I’m grateful that I don’t have to hand wash them. 3.5 loads by hands would take way, way longer.

Leave a Reply

