Is Le Creuset Dutch/French Oven Worth It?

I finally got a 5.5 quart Le Creuset dutch oven in Caribbean in the fall, just in time to make fall and winter soups. I’ve been meaning to post about it ever since… Just like a bunch of other post waiting for the light of day in my draft folder.

LS2501-2617_full
*Photo from Le Creuset Website

I’ve been coveting one for years, but I could never comfortably pay the hefty price of $300 for a pot. That’s quite the investment for me. Plus I wasn’t sure if they are worth the price, having never cooked with one.

Well, it’s totally worth it if you can swing it! I love my pot. I love it, love it, love it. I love the color, too, so pretty and so aptly named. It really does remind me of the beautiful turquoise color of the ocean in that area.

I don’t have any good photos of actually cooking with it. Just an inside photo of the the food being cooked like the lentil soup photo from the other day.

IMG_2594

But, even the small glimpse is pretty, right?

It browns up soffritto for soups so well. It doesn’t burn easily like the stainless steel pots I’ve been using so, you can simmer for a long time without constant vigilance. It’s just sooooooooooooooooo lovely, if you can use lovely to describe a pot.

If you want to get a Le Creuset French Oven (because while dutch oven is the more common term, this is actually a French company!), but can’t easily afford to plop down $300 bucks, this is how I managed it.

I asked for Bed Bath and Beyond gift cards for birthdays. This took several years because these days my sister-in-law is the only one who gives me presents. D and I stopped exchanging gifts early on in our marriage. If you have a lot of friends and relatives who give presents, maybe this will only take you one birthday worth of saving. Also, I purposely chose Bed Bath and Beyond because Le Creuset prices are pretty standard everywhere and a bargain is rare indeed. But, Bed Bath and Beyond will take 20% off the price with their coupon!

The only regret I have is that I didn’t go bigger. If I could do it over again, I would have paid the extra $50 for the 7.25 quarts. That would be my one recommendation, especially if you’re usually cooking for 4 or more or to have left-overs.

2 thoughts on “Is Le Creuset Dutch/French Oven Worth It?

  1. I LOVE my Le Crueset! I’ve got my whole set and some of them are from the outlet. If you have outlet near by, check them out. Go buy them when they have a sale event. The outlet stuff is the 2nd tier stuff, minor cosmetic imperfection but can be 25% cheaper or more during the sales. I’ve got my crepe pan for $90. Look online for these isn’t a bad idea too.

Leave a Reply

