What I Really Want for Mother’s Day

Last night, D sweetly offered to make me breakfast in bed, do the food shopping, clean the house and make dinner for Mother’s Day.  I sweetly declined.  Breakfast in bed? No, thank you. I don’t know about anyone else, but eating in bed has never appealed to me.  I would just worry about crumbs and spillage the whole time.

Plus, the whole idea of having breakfast made by D and the kids make me shudder.  The last time D and S made breakfast for me, I found at least 3 pots, many dishes and messy stove waiting for me in the kitchen.  Do you know how hard it is to wipe off dried up egg?  Double no thanks!

We would be better off going out.  Better yet, take the kids out for breakfast so I can sleep in!  Or go to the bathroom and take a shower without feeling like some kind of an exhibit at the zoo.

Having my food shopping done is another nice idea in theory until I get a phone call every other minute.  So, unless I can make a simple list with no cause for confusion or requiring further explanation once D gets to the supermarket, another no thank you.

Cleaning the house is all well and good unless it involves me watching the kids and keeping them out-of-the-way for hours.  ‘Nuff said.

Ditto on making the dinner, especially since D usually takes hours to make dinner.

D seemed a little disappointed and wondered what I wanted for Mother’s Day.  What I really want is for D to give me a massage on Saturday night until I fall deeply asleep.  In the morning, as soon as the kids wake up, huddle them quickly out of the house and have long leisurely breakfast, just the three of them.  Long enough where I can sleep until at least 7:30 and take a shower all by myself.

Or make it simple and just let me stay overnight at the local hotel by myself.  Is it bad that I don’t want to spend time with my own children?

Anyway, as neither of those wishes are realistic, I asked for my usual cup of coffee and an hour to get a pedicure.

One thought on “What I Really Want for Mother’s Day

Leave a Reply

