Red Snapper Fiasco

On Sunday, I bought a big fillet of red snapper.  And I threw it in the garbage.

I hate wasting food.  Hate. It.  When the wasted food cost quite a bit of money, say equal to enough ground turkey to feed my family of 4 for at least 5 days, it literally makes me feel sick.  Plus, just the sheer disappointment of anticipating a yummy meal, to only have some mashed potatoes to eat made me practically teary-eyed.

I got the recipe from a link in Cooking Light.  It looked easy, simple and relatively healthy.  I followed the directions to the letter.  The fish came out tough and rubbery.  Rubbery to the point of being inedible.  Believe me, if I could have eaten it somehow, I would have since I really hate wasting food.  I tried various parts of the filet to determine if there was any edible part, but the whole fish was just awful.  Ugh.  The waste, the waste!

And I don’t know what went wrong!  Is it the recipe? Is it the fish? How aggravating!  So, now I’ll forever be scared to buy red snapper again.  All this because I  was tired of the same three types of fish I eat.

5 thoughts on “Red Snapper Fiasco

    1. Thanks for commenting… you know I would leave a comment if I knew what I did wrong, but I don’t know. I don’t know if I did something wrong or if perhaps may be the fish wasn’t good? *shrug* I am going to ask my fish guy next week if he has a clue.

  1. I am from Alaska and I have the same problem with the snapper came rubbery and tough.
    I tried different recipes grilled, stewed, and fried and still the same problem.

    1. I have a friend who makes it all the time, pan-fried, and she’s never a problem. I’ll have to to try it next time, though I’m pretty scarred so I don’t know when that will be.

Leave a Reply

