Apple Muffins

IMG_3886

We usually go apple picking only once in the fall.  This year, because the apples were so delicious and Peanut’s daycare was closed on Columbus Day and mostly because the apples were so delicious, Peanut and I went apple picking again.

IMG_3729

This is from the first trip. I didn’t bring the camera because I knew I would have my hands full between the apples and Peanut. Sure enough, Peanut soon got tired of apple picking. Too bad though about the camera since she looked awfully cute, munching on an apple while sitting on a make-shift turned-over bucket seat while I did most of the apple picking.

Even without the help, I managed to pick another 18 pounds worth of apples. Between the apples from the prior picking and this batch, I had plenty of apples to eat and bake.

I made apple pie, apple turn-overs and then I tried my hands at apple muffins. I wanted something relatively “healthy” and that could be eaten for breakfast by Soso.

I searched the web and found an easy recipe from King Arthur’s site. It had many favorable reviews and the only hiccup was it called for whole wheat flour which I don’t readily have. But, I decided to go for it and I have to say the muffins were worth it. And who knows, perhaps I’ll bake something in the near future calling for more whole wheat flour.

I modified the recipe to use less sugar because the apples were naturally incredibly sweet. I used a little less than 1/2 cup of both granulated and 1/4 cup of brown sugar. I also didn’t want to sprinkle the brown sugar on top as instructed since I was planning to freeze most of them.

As you can see below, the batter is thick and you fill up the almost to the top of the cups.

IMG_3883

I also used plain yogurt and I added 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract. The muffins came out not too sweet, moist and delicious!

IMG_3884

I think the muffins came out flatter than it should have and I’ve read that the oven temperature could be the fault.  I didn’t mind since the taste was great, but perhaps I should determine if my oven is faulty.

Apple Muffins

Prep time: 10 mins Cook time: 25 – 30 mins
Makes: 12 muffins

Ingredients

1/2 cup (8 tablespoons) unsalted butter, at room temperature
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/4 cup brown sugar (optional use more brown sugar to top muffins)
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 large egg
1 cup plain regular yogurt (optional 1 buttermilk)
1 cup white whole wheat flour
1 cup unbleached all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon ground cinnamon
2 cups peeled, cored, and chopped apples (2 large apples – I used 1 Granny and 1 Golden Delicious)

Directions

Preheat the oven to 375°F. Grease and flour a 12-cup muffin pan, or line with paper liners.

In a small bowl, mix and set aside the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and cinnamon.

Mix together the butter, granulated sugar, the brown sugar, and vanilla and beat until fluffy. Add the egg and mix well. Scrape the sides and bottom at least once in between the mixing.

Gently fold in the yogurt. Stir in the flours mixture until just mixed. Fold in the chopped apples.

Divide the batter evenly among the prepared muffin cups. Bake the muffins for 25 to 30 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center of a muffin comes out clean.

Remove the muffins from the oven, cool them for 5 minutes in the pan, then turn them out onto a rack to finish cooling completely before freezing in resealable plastic bags. The muffins can be defrosted in a plastic bag and eaten as is or warmed up in the toaster oven.

Leave a Reply

