Pumpkin White Chocolate Chips Cookies

I hope everyone had a wonderful Thanksgiving!  We had a small one, with only the 6 of us. I tried to down-size with food, but somehow I winded up baking up a storm and now my freezer is filled with baked pumpkin goodness.  Mind you, I still have the apple cake from the prior week, plus I also made cranberry scones (posting recipe soon).  I haven’t even begun my Christmas baking and my freezer is full! I need to off-load some of these baked goods stat!

Obviously, any dieting will have to wait until the new year.  So much for trying to lose a couple of pounds because some of my pants are feeling a wee bit tight. And poor Soso will be eating pumpkin bread, pumpkin muffins, apple cake and cranberry scones for breakfast until she’s sick of them.

To think, this is all as a result of forgoing making pies for Thanksgiving this year.  Instead, I made these pumpkin cookies off a recipe on Parade magazine.  (I also made my usual batch of pumpkin bread, mostly because my two neighbors’ kids love them.)

IMG_4096

There was left-over pumpkin puree after the cookies and I winded up making two dozen pumpkin muffins with the left-over. So, my freezer is currently bursting (literally) with the apple cake from last week, pumpkin bread, muffins cookies and scones.  D came home to the freezer being slightly ajar because apparently it was so full.  Fortunately, everything stayed frozen, but he gave me an earful about wasted energy.

Okay, back the cookie recipe… The recipe calls for white sugar and the resulting cookies came out nice and soft. However, next time, I’ll try replacing half the sugar with brown sugar for a more crispy texture. I also took the cookies out at two different times, just as the cookies started browning around the edges at around 15 minutes mark and at full 20 minutes that the recipe states.  I thought perhaps the 20 minutes was a typo since it seemed long for cookies.  If you look at the above photo carefully, you can see the difference in color on the two cookies on top.  The difference, aside from appearances, is that the browner one tastes a little more caramelized and was the preferred cookie by the judges (D and S). So, I guess the 20 minutes was not a typo.

The recipe makes 4 dozen cookies. Plenty to eat, share and freeze.  Hopefully, my neighbors weren’t pumpkin-ed out.  They got the pumpkin bread, some cookies, as well as some of the 2 dozen pumpkin muffins I made as well with the left-over puree.

IMG_4099

Pumpkin Cookies with White Chocolate Chips

Prep time: 15 mins Cook time: 40 mins
Makes: 4 dozen cookies

Ingredients

3 cups flour
2 tsp baking soda
1½ tsp cinnamon
¼ tsp nutmeg
1 tsp salt
1 cup butter (2 sticks) unsalted butter
2 cups sugar
1 large egg
1 cup canned pure pumpkin
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 cups white chocolate chips

Directions

Pre-heat oven to 350°F. Line two baking sheets with parchment paper.

In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda, cinnamon, salt and nutmeg and set aside.

In a large bowl, beat the butter and sugar until fluffy with an electric mixer. Beat in egg, pumpkin puree and vanilla extract.

Mix in the flour until just incorporated. Fold in the chocolate chips.

Drop a heaping tablespoon of dough onto the parchment paper, 1.5 – 2 inches apart. Bake for 15 – 20 minutes or until the bottom has browned. Rotate the sheets from top to bottom half-way.

Cool 1 minute, then transfer to a rack to cool completely. Can be stored for a few day in an air-tight container or be frozen for several weeks.

Leave a Reply

