Taco Seasoning Mix

Taco seasoning

Taco seasoning mix is so easy to make, I can’t believe I didn’t try making it sooner.  I still like to have a few store-bought packets in my spice rack for one of those days when I don’t have even the 5 minutes to make my own.  Otherwise, I use this mix for my turkey tacos and for my bean burritos.

A few notes.  When I looked up the recipe online, I noticed that most recipes call for the same ingredients: chili powder, cumin powder, oregano, garlic powder, onion powder, crushed red pepper, salt and black pepper.  My kids can’t handle heat so I’ve substituted chili powder with paprika.  I leave out the garlic and onion powder and use fresh garlic and onion while cooking.  I, also, like to add salt directly to the meat while cooking to better control the salt content.

Last thing, I increased cumin so that the cumin to paprika proportion is 1:1.  I cook mostly with ground turkey and sometimes I find that ground turkey has a weird aftertaste.  I find the cumin masks the aftertaste.

Play with the proportions of the spices to suit your own individual taste.

Taco Seasoning Mix

Time: 5 mins
Serving Size:  3 to 4

Ingredients

2 tablespoon cumin
2 tablespoon paprika
1 teaspoon crushed red pepper
1 teaspoon oregano
1 teaspoon black pepper
1 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoon garlic powder (optional or substitute with real garlic during cooking)
1 teaspoon onion powder (optional or substitute with real onion during cooking)

Directions

Place all the dry ingredients in an airtight container with a lid (i.e. spice jar).  Close the lid and give the mix a few shakes to thoroughly mix the ingredients.  Store in a cool and dry place for unto 6  months. Use 1 – 3 tablespoon according to taste per 1 pound of meat.

Leave a Reply

