My Attempt at Baking Irish Soda Bread

I’ve mentioned this before, but one of my friend makes the best Irish Soda Bread.  She was kind enough to share her recipe with me and this blog a few years ago.  I fully intended to make my own ever since, but . . .  She has continued to generously give me a loaf of bread every year and my life’s just not been all that conducive to trying new recipes.  I haven’t been all that motivated to either. I mean why try when I know I’m guaranteed to have a delicious one without putting an ounce of effort?

Still, I’m sure she doesn’t want to supply me with Irish Soda Bread for the rest of my life so I decided to make it this year.

After 40 minutes in the oven, this is what it looked like. Golden brown top? Check.

IMG_4528

I even verified with my friend, who happened to stop by the house to give me her bread just when mine came out of the oven.

IMG_4527

The bottom should be golden brown as well (check) and sound a little hollow when you knock on it (check).

IMG_4530

So, after it had barely cooled enough, I eagerly sliced a piece and it was . . .

Perfection?

Nope.

Nada.

It was salty. I ate a piece of my friend’s to verify and yup. Mine’s salty and her’s is not.

What went wrong?!?!?  I was baking in challenging conditions. I wish I could have video taped it. Between trying to help Soso with her homework on the computer and trying to feed Peanut and manage her 1000 demands requests, it’s a wonder I got it baked at all.  So, the dough is lightly coated with softened butter before baking and it turns out that I grabbed the salted butter instead of the unsalted.

Check out my friend’s Irish Soda Bread recipe if you’re looking to make some of your own in honor of St. Patty’s Day.  Just make sure not to multitask while baking!  And don’t make the mistake I did and use salted butter instead of unsalted.

I’m hoping it will taste better tomorrow, but if it doesn’t, what on earth should I do with two loaves of salty Irish Soda Bread?

Leave a Reply

