Running Update: Dealing with the dark and the cold

November running isn’t going very well. I had a goal of running at least 4 times a week, hopefully averaging 20 miles per week. I ran 3x the first week, 4x the second week and I’ve only managed to run 2x this week thus far and only on the treadmill.  It’s been so cold! It’s been in the low 20’s and weather.com had it feeling like in the teens and I could not will my body to get out of bed in time to run outside for the past few days.

It was hard enough dealing with the dark, but freezing cold and the dark?!  And knowing that there is ice on the road as well has been a strong deterrent. On the other hand, treadmill running is awful. I can’t get past 3 miles!  I have to figure out how to get back to running outdoors again or figure out how to hit a zen zone while running like a gerbil.

The difference between October and November? I had run over 70 miles by this time in October and I’ve only run 37 miles so far.

I remember when the weather first started cooling off and 40’s felt SO COLD!  And now I would be happy with 30’s! I guess the life lesson of this month is that everything is all relative.

Leave a Reply

