Peanut Milestones!

Kids’ milestones are always a little bittersweet and this one is turning into the most bittersweet of them all.

Peanut is finally out of her crib and sleeping in a big girl bed.

IMG_5662

You can’t tell from all the baby blanket on the bed, but she has a Frozen comforter.

IMG_5664

She has moved into Soso’s bedroom. Both girls wanted it so we decided to give it a try. The hope is that Peanut will stop having these crying episodes and Soso will stop asking if she could sleep with us.

So here comes the bittersweet part… Peanut no longer wants to be held while I sing to her and be put down to bed. She told me that she can get into the bed herself. *CRYING* It was the one time I really loved holding her even during the difficult year and the on and off difficult months since as she went through her bouts of sleep issues.

Here’s the second one… In order to minimize potential disturbance to Peanut (since she goes to bed earlier) when Soso goes to bed, we no longer pray with her in her bed and tuck her in. She says goodnight to us and goes to bed all by herself. All these times I’ve been teasing her about when she was going to put herself to bed and it’s happened for real. I feel like I’ve suffered two losses!

Well, at least the next milestone isn’t bad at all.

IMG_5655

Peanut is eating at the table with us! She’s still in the high chair but she can finally comfortably eat off the table versus the tray. Of course now I have to worry about the tablecloth getting more food stains. Peanut is happy though because she’s sitting with us and not a little apart.

I guess Peanut isn’t as much of a peanut now.  I can’t believe how much she’s grown this year.  I’m finally at the stage with her where I want things to slow down a bit. I want to savor the little moments.  There was a time, not too long ago, when I would have given anything to be able to fast forward time.  I guess miracles do happen.

One thought on “Peanut Milestones!

Leave a Reply

