Run a Half Marathon? Check!

IMG950676

I ran the Newport Liberty Half Marathon in Jersey City on Sunday, my first half! I had a moment during the race when I wasn’t sure if I would be able to finish. I had a couple of moments when I thought I would not meet my stated goal of 2:11. I kept on pushing and I didn’t give up when I wanted to slow down the pace. I had used up all my reserve energy when I crossed that finish line, but I finished it at 2:09!

I can’t remember the last time I was proud of my accomplishment, but I am proud of myself.  I trained hard for 12 weeks, waking up at 5 in the morning 4 or 5 days out of the week and I stayed mentally tough when I felt physically weak.  I finished a half and I finished it strong!

Oh and now I can check off one more thing from my bucket list.

2 thoughts on “Run a Half Marathon? Check!

Leave a Reply

